The Washington State Traffic Safety Commission (WTSC) is launching night time seat belt enforcement patrols between May 19-June1, 2008 according to The Seattle Post-Intelligencer. Washington State law provides law enforcement with the power to stop vehicles if they notice the driver or passengers are not wearing a seat belt. Officers can issue a seat belt violation ticket which costs $124 for each unbelted person.
According to the WTSC, seat belt compliance is 6-8% lower at night then at day time. In analyzing Washington State fatal car accident data, people between the ages of 15-45 have the highest incidence of not wearing seat belts.
This information was brought to you by the Washington Injury Attorney, a service of the Western Washington car accident attorneys at The Farber Law Group. Our law firm has more than 30 years experience in representing victims of car accidents and who have suffered severe personal injuries such aswhiplash and traumatic brain injury. Contact us today for a free case consultation.